X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Six teams vying for the final two spots in World Cup Qualifier 2018

by Sahir Usman Jan 29, 2018 • 21:29 PM

Jan.29 (CRICKETNMORE) - Six teams are competing in Namibia for a place at the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier. The top two teams from ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 2 will qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 and will be just one-step away from England and Wales 2019.

Eighty-three teams started the qualification process for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 and all teams in the ICC WCL Division 2 taking place between 8 and 15 February in Namibia are now just two steps away from the ICC’s pinnacle 50-over event.

Also Read: Delhi Daredevils appoint Hopes as bowling coach

Canada and Oman who secured promotion from the ICC World Cricket League Division 3 in May 2017 are joined by Kenya, Namibia, Nepal and the United Arab Emirates who get a second chance to qualify for the Zimbabwe event after finishing in the bottom four of the ICC World Cricket League Championship 2015-2017 that culminated in December 2017.

Canada have previously played in four ICC Cricket World Cups in 1979, 2003, 2007, 2011 and will be looking to make it a fifth. The team have toured Barbados as part of its preparation for the ICC WCL Division 2 and can draw on the experience of Nikhil Dutta and Hamza Tariq who both played in the Caribbean Premier League.

Also Read: In-form India aim to outclass Pakistan in U-19 World Cup semi-final 

Oman have impressed throughout the qualification process starting in Division 5 and spectacularly climbing the ladder at every stage. During that time, Oman has also performed well in the ICC World Twenty20 qualification process.

Read More

Latest Cricket NEWS