X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Dinesh Chandimal in Sri Lanka Test squad despite pending ball-tampering hearing

by Saurabh Sharma Jul 05, 2018 • 23:19 PM

Colombo, July 5 (CRICKETNMORE):  Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) selectors on Thursday named Dinesh Chandimal in the 16-man squad for the two-Test series at home against South Africa, despite the skipper's availability hanging by a thread due to the impending ball-tampering hearing on July 10.

Chandimal, coach Chandika Hathurusingha and manager Asanka Gurusinha were charged by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for breaching it's code of conduct with behaviour contrary to the spirit of cricket and face a hearing on July 10. 

Also Read: 2nd T20I, Preview: India vs England at Sophia Gardens

If they lose the hearing, they could all be suspended for two Tests.

Sri Lanka refused to take the field on the third day of the second Test against the West Indies after ball-tampering charges were laid against the side. 

Chandimal was found guilty of changing the condition of the ball and was suspended for the Barbados Test.

Meanwhile, in a boost for the Islanders, former skipper Angelo Mathews returned to the national squad after missing out the West Indies series because of the birth of his second child. 

Sri Lanka, however are sweating over the fitness of veteran left-arm spinner Rangana Herath and batsman Kusal Perera, both named in the 16-member squad, and their inclusion depends on them clearing the fitness test.

Asitha Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Malinda Pushpakumara and Shehan Jayasuriya have been selected as standbys in case the hosts need reinforcements. 

Sri Lanka will play the first Test in Galle from July 12 before moving to Colombo for the second Test from July 20. 

They will then feature in a five-match One-day International (ODI) series before South Africa's tour-ending one-off T20I in Colombo on August 14.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Angelo Mathews, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Janith Perera (Subject to Fitness), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath (Subject to fitness), Suranga Lakmal (vc), Dilruwan Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Lahiru Kumara, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha.