X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Sri Lanka Team Schedule

by Sahir Usman Apr 26, 2018 • 19:36 PM

April 26 (CRICKETNMORE) - The ICC today confirmed Sri Lanka’s matches in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which sees the 1996 world champions play their nine league matches in five cities. The 10-team tournament, to be played on a single-league format with the top four progressing to the semi-finals, will run from 30 May to 14 July across 11 venues of England and Wales.

Sri Lanka will face-off New Zealand in their opening match on 1 June in Cardiff, and then take on Afghanistan at the same venue three days later. They will then move to Bristol, where they will meet Asian rivals Pakistan and Bangladesh on 7 and 11 June, respectively.

Also Read: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: West Indies Team Schedule

Sri Lanka have just under 50 per cent success rate at the World Cup, having won 35 matches and lost 35 matches. They were involved in a tied match, while two others matches ended in no-results.

Apart from winning the 1996 tournament in the subcontinent, Sri Lanka have featured in the finals of the 2007 and 2011 events. They qualified for the semi-finals in 2003, while their only quarter-final appearance was in Australia and New Zealand in 2015. In the other six tournaments, they have failed to progress beyond the group stages.

Sri Lanka Team Schedule in ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Read More