X close
X close

CWC Flashback - History of past World Cup finals

Sahir  Usman
By Sahir Usman
July 13, 2019 • 15:00 PM View: 12147

July 13 (CRICKETNMORE) - Whether in Melbourne, Mumbai or Marylebone, the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup final is an occasion like no other. With England ready to take on New Zealand on Sunday at iconic Lord’s Cricket Ground, let's take a look at the history of Cricket World Cup Finals in CWC Flashback:

1975: Lloyd leads by example


Runs made with backs to the wall are gripping to watch and Clive Lloyd coined the original. The West Indies captain came to the crease with his side struggling on 50/3 against Dennis Lillee’s Australia. Under glassy skies and in front of a feverish Lord’s crowd, Lloyd struck a masterful counter-attacking century and Keith Boyce took four wickets to crown Windies the inaugural winners.

1979 WC Final

1979: Richards strikes again 

Just as Lloyd bailed them out four years earlier, it was the turn of Viv Richards to extricate West Indies from a poor start and propel them to glory. His 138 from 157 balls was a brutal innings by modern standards and helped set a target of 286 – well beyond hosts England despite the stoical efforts of openers Geoffrey Boycott and Mike Brearley. 

1983: India’s summer

India’s vaunted bowling attack wrested the World Cup from the grasp of West Indies as Kapil Dev masterminded a memorable triumph. Dev’s outfit only managed 183 first up and Windies looked destined for a third straight victory, but Mohinder Amarnath and Madan Lal exploited swinging and seaming conditions to get home by 43 runs. 

Read More