X close
X close

ICC Mens T20 World Cup 2022 

45 T20, 16 Oct, 2022 - 13 Nov, 2022

T20 WC 2022 News
Read More

T20 World Cup 2022

The usual one-day cricket was shortened to 20 overs a side for the first time on February 17th, 2005 in Auckland, where New Zealand and Australia faced off in the first-ever Twenty20 match. However, the exciting format gained popularity in 2007, when a spirited young Indian side won the inaugural T20 World Cup in South Africa.

Since then, T20 has emerged arguably as the most loved cricket format. While India is still to win a T20 World Cup ever since their historic win in 2007, a lot of winners have emerged in the next 6 editions of the same, with West Indies being the only team to lift the T20 World Cup twice. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, England, and Australia have won the T20 World Cup once each, and Australians will participate in the T20 World Cup 2022 as defending champions at their home. 

Originally, the tournament was supposed to take place in Australia in 2020. However, due to the COVID pandemic, ICC had to postpone the T20 tournament.

In this edition of the World, 8 teams have qualified for the Super 12 phase - England, New Zealand, Australia & Afghanistan in Group 1, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh & South Africa in Group 2. While 8 teams are placed in the Group stages - UAE, Netherlands, Namibia and Sri Lanka in Group A, West Indies, Ireland, Scotland, and Zimbabwe in Group B - where the top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 12 stage.

The tournament is set to start on October 16th at Geelong Cricket Ground, Victoria, with the final to be played at Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 13th.