X close
X close

Caribbean Premier League 2022 

34 T20, 31 Aug, 2022 - 30 Sep, 2022

CPL 2022 News
Read More

The 2022 edition of West Indies's domestic T20 cricket league, Caribbean Premier League, more commonly known as CPL 10/Hero CPL 2022, started on August 31st. The final of the tournament will be played on September 30th, 2022. 

While six franchises - Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallwahs, St Kitts & Nevis Patriots, Saint Lucia Kings and Trinbago Knight riders, will fight out in the men's tournament, a women's tournament is also scheduled to be held concurrent with the men's tournament.

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots are the defending champions, and the hosts for this season as well along with Guyana hosting the playoffs. Amongst the six participating teams, the top four teams will advance to the playoffs. While the top two teams will play the Qualifier 1, the 3rd and 4th placed teams will face off in the eliminator, with the winner proceeding to Qualifier 2, to play against the Qualifier 1 loser. 

Diving deep into the CPL history, Jamaica Tallawahs won the first season in 2013. Barbados Tridents won in 2014, and Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel won the tournament in 2015. Jamaica Tallawahs once again regained their crown as they won the tournament n 2016, but was followed by two back-to-back titles by Trinbago Knight Riders in 2017 and 2018. 

Barbados Tridents won the league in 2019, and Trinbago Knight Riders followed up with yet another CPL title in 2020. In 2012, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots won the league and are the current defending champions. Caribbean Premier League 2022 - Series Description.