X close
X close

Argentina, Brazil Among Winners Of ICC Development Awards

By IANS News
April 20, 2021 • 22:14 PM View: 1016

Later this year, Brazil will return to ICC women's competition for the first time since 2012, when they participate in the ICC Women's [2023] T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier.

The 'ICC Digital Fan Engagement of the Year' has been awarded to the Vanuatu Cricket Association for providing cricket to fans during the pandemic when the Women's T20 Grand Final was the only live sporting event available.


Vanuatu, with a population of only 300,000, used the opportunity to reach over 16 million people through live streaming of the Grand Final and the Vanuatu T10 Blast. This has resulted in more people engaging with the sport and cricket participants in Vanuatu.

The Uganda Cricket Association has won the 'Cricket 4 Good Social Impact Initiative of the Year' for supporting hundreds of their players, volunteers, and their families through a COVID-19 relief program.

By November 2020, 1500 people had benefitted from the relief which had reached players, coaches, umpires, and school teachers in the form of food, soap, financial aid, psychological support, and an invite for people to take part in online courses on financial literacy.

Win Big, Make Your Cricket Prediction Now