X close
X close

Argentina, Brazil Among Winners Of ICC Development Awards

By IANS News
April 20, 2021 • 22:14 PM View: 960

Argentina, Brazil, Uganda, and Vanuatu were on Tuesday announced as the global winners of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Development Awards for 2020.

The awards are given to members for working to grow cricket in emerging markets in partnership with the ICC. "The winners were identified by a global independent panel consisting of 12 leaders including ICC Full Member Chief Executives, current and former international players, media representatives and other members of the cricket family," said a statement from the ICC.


The global award for the 'ICC Development Initiative of the Year' has been given to Cricket Argentina for producing 17 coachings, umpiring, and scoring courses in Spanish to attract local audiences in South America to cricket.

The program, which was moved online due to the pandemic, resulted in 257 new coaches and provided people with an opportunity to participate in a new sport.

Cricket Brazil has been awarded the '100 percent Cricket Female Cricket Initiative of the Year' after taking a step in the development of the women's game in South America by awarding 14 professional central contracts to the women's national team.

Read More

Win Big, Make Your Cricket Prediction Now