X close
X close

Venkatesh Prasad Unveils His All-Time Top XI Indian Team For ODIs

Team India became the first team to complete a 1000 ODIs match as they played against West Indies at Ahmedabad on February 6th. India has managed 519 wins in these 1000 matches, including two World Cu

By Rishabh Gautam February 09, 2022 • 14:11 PM

Team India became the first team to complete a 1000 ODIs match as they played against West Indies at Ahmedabad on February 6th. India has managed 519 wins in these 1000 matches, including two World Cups - in 1983 & 2011, and a Champions Trophy in 2013. 

Many Indian players have displayed excellent performances since 1974, ever since Team India played their first ODI. Amidst the 1000-match spectacle, many former players have named their all-time best Indian team for ODIs. 


Venkatesh Prasad, a right-arm medium-pacer who partnered with Javagal Srinath from 1996-2001. Prasad's most memorable performance arguably would be against Pakistan in 199 at Chennai in the first test. He wreaked havoc on Pakistani batters in the second innings and picked up 6 wickets for just 33 runs, including a spell of 5 for 0. 

The 52-year old former Indian cricketer unveiled the best all-time Indian team for the ODIs. Venkatesh Prasad left out current Indian captain and two-time double centurion in ODIs, Rohit Sharma from his XI. Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar have been named instead. Sehwag has registered 8,273 runs in 251 ODIs for India, with an impressive strike rate of 104.33. Sachin Tendulkar was an obvious choice, with the legend registering mammoth 18,426 runs in 452 innings, averaging at 44.83 with 49 centuries and 96 fifties to his name. 

Former Indian captain Virat Kohli comes next on the list, on #3. Kohli has smacked 12,293 runs in his ODI career in 249 innings with a staggering average of 58.53. The 33-year old has registered 43 centuries and 64 fifties in his career till now and is still looking to pile on runs. Venkatesh has next placed another former Indian captain, Mohammad Azharuddin on this list. 

Azharuddin scored 6,215 runs in 147 innings, averaging 45.03 with 22 centuries and 21 fifties. Moreover, Azharuddin maintained an average of 63 as captain in 18 ODI innings, registering 1,071 runs with 4 centuries and 3 fifties. Next on Venkatesh Prasad's list is India's World Cup 2011 hero, Yuvraj Singh. The southpaw has smacked 8,701 runs in 278 ODI innings, with 14 centuries and 52 fifties. Apart from this, Yuvraj has picked up 111 wickets in 161 ODI innings with his left-arm slow bowling, with a 5-wicket haul to his name.

Number 6 is an obvious choice for any all-time Indian ODI XI: Mahendra Singh Dhoni. The Indian captain led India to the 2011 World Cup victory followed by Champions Trophy in 2013. The wicket-keeper has 10,773 runs in his ODI career, batting in 297 innings. Dhoni maintained an average of 50.57 with a strike rate of 87.56.  Dhoni has 10 centuries to his name and a staggering 73 fifties as he shifted lower down the order after becoming the captain. 

India's most legendary all-rounder and first Indian captain to win a World Cup - Kapil Dev unsurprisingly occupies the seven number spot. Kapil Dev has 3,783 runs in his ODI career, along with 253 wickets. Coming to the bowlers, Venkatesh Prasad named Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh as spinners. Leg-spinner Anil Kumble has picked up 337 wickets in his ODI career while off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, who was also part of the 2011-world cup winning Indian team, has made his place at #8 with 269 wickets in 236 matches. 

The pace department in Venkatesh Prasad's all-time Indian top XI for ODIs consists of his fast bowling partner Javagal Srinath and the left-arm pacer Zaheer Khan. Srinath has 315 wickets in 229 ODI matches in his career. Not only this, but he has also contributed with the bat, scoring 8,847 runs in these matches. Zaheer Khan impressively led the Indian bowling attack in his era, picking up 282 wickets in 200 matches, along with 8,301 runs. 

Venkatesh Prasad All Time Indian XI in ODIs:

  • Virender Sehwar
  • Sachin Tendulkar
  • Virat Kohli
  • Mohammad Azharuddin
  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni
  • Kapil Dev
  • Anil Kumble
  • Harbhajan Singh
  • Javagal Srinath
  • Zaheer Khan

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction Overview - List Of All Players & Teams

While India managed an easy win in their 1000th ODI, which was the first ODI of the 3-match home series against West Indies, all eyes are on the second ODI where KL Rahul will make his return as Team India continue sorting out their playing combinations with the 2023 World Cup in hindsight, to finally win the World Cup after 12 years of wait. 


Win Big, Make Your Cricket Prediction Now