X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Team of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 announced

by Sahir Usman Jul 15, 2019 • 23:14 PM

July 15 - New Zealand’s captain and Player of the Tournament Kane Williamson has been named captain of an ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 team that includes six players from Sunday’s dramatic final at Lord’s. 

Newly-crowned world champions England are the most represented with four selections in the XI while runners-up the Black Caps have two in the team, named by a panel selected by the ICC to honour  players who performed well in the tournament. 

Also Read: World Cup 2019 dream team: Men who stole the show

The other representatives come from the losing semi-finalists India and Australia, who have two each, while Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan rounds out the team. 

The side was selected by former internationals and commentators Ian Bishop, Ian Smith and Isa Guha, along with cricket writer Lawrence Booth, while ICC General Manager Cricket, Geoff Allardice, was the fifth member and convener of the committee. 


The team of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 (in batting order) is:  

Jason Roy (England) – 443 runs at 63.28

Rohit Sharma (India) – 648 runs at 81.00

Kane Williamson (c) (New Zealand) – 578 runs at 82.57 

Joe Root (England) – 556 runs at 61.77

Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) – 606 runs at 86.57, 11 wickets at 36.27 

Ben Stokes (England) – 465 runs at 66.42, seven wickets at 35.14

Alex Carey (wk) (Australia) – 375 runs at 62.50, 20 dismissals 

Mitchell Starc (Australia) – 27 wickets at 18.59

Jofra Archer (England) – 20 wickets at 23.05

Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand) – 21 wickets at 19.47

Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 18 wickets at 20.61 

Read More