SA20 2023 

33 T20, 10 Jan, 2023 - 11 Feb, 2023

SA20 2023 News
Read More

SA20 2023 - Series

The SA20 2023 is the inaugural season of the South Africa T20 league - SA20, the start of a franchise T20 cricket league in South Africa, organised by CSA (Cricket South Africa). The tournament is set to start on January 10th with the final to be played on February 11th, 2023.

Six franchises, all owned by various IPL team owners will compete in the SA20 league. MI Cape Town (Mumbai Indians), Joburg Super Kings (Chennai Super Kings), Durban Super Giants (Lucknow Super Giants), Paarl Royals (Rajasthan Royals), Pretoria Capitals (Delhi Capitals) and Sunrisers Eastern Cape (Sunrisers Hyderabad) will compete in against each other to win the inaugural season of the SA20 league.

SA20 have announced a range of new rules to make the game more fair and competitive.

  • The captains will be charged with in-game penalties through fielding restrictions in case of slow over-rates.
  • Batters can't take runs if they're bowled on a no-ball or free hit if the ball ricochets after hitting the stumps.
  • Similarly, the batters cannot run on overthrows if the balls makes contact with the stumps before going elsewhere. 
  • The captains have to name 13 players before the toss and can select the playing 11 after the toss, with the remaining 2 players to be used as substitute fielders.

Bonus points will be awarded to the winning team in each match if they manage to maintain 1.25x of the opposition's run rate. 
The tournament will kick off with the clash between MI Cape Town and Paarl Royals while the last league match will be played on February 7th between Pretoria Capitals and Paarl Royals. The league stage will consist of 30 matches. 
The Semi-Finals will be played on February 8th and February 9th in Johannesburg and Centurion, with the final to be played in Johannesburg on February 11th.