X close
X close

Third T20I Between New Zealand, India Ends In A Tie; India Take 3-Match T20I Series 1-0

With the 1st T20I washed out and the 2nd T20I won by India, the visitors have taken the 3-match series 1-0 against hosts New Zealand

Rishabh Gautam
By Rishabh Gautam November 23, 2022 • 10:36 AM

NZ vs IND: Rain had the last laugh in the 3rd T20I between New Zealand and India as the match eneded in a tie after India got to bat only 9 overs. With the 1st T20I washed out and the 2nd T20I won by India, the visitors have taken the 3-match series 1-0 against hosts New Zealand. 

Chasing 161 runs to win, India were off to a below par start after losing openers Ishan Kishan (10) and Rishabh Pant (11), as well as Shreyas Iyer (0) inside the powerplay. India had their hopes pinned on in fomr batter Suryakumar Yadav and captain Hardik Pandya to etch a match saving partnership.


However, NZ spinner Ish Sodhi got the big wicket of Suryakumar Yadav on the first ball of his over after coming into attack just after the powerplay. Surya scored 13 runs off 10 balls with a four & a six. 

At the time of rain appearing, India were at 75/4 in 9 overs. The DLS par score read 75 runs which means the match would end in a tie if the play doesn't resume, and that's what happened. Hardik Pandya remained not out on 30 runs while Deepak Hooda scored 9* runs. 

For New Zealand, captain Tim Southee picked up 2 wickets while Adam Milne and Ish Sodhi grabbed 1 wicket each. In the first innings, Playing to save the series, New Zealand opener Devon Conway stepped up to register a fifty while explosive batter Glenn Phillips also scored a thunderous knock as the Kiwis posted 160/10 in 19.4 against India in the 3rd T20I. India now need to chase down 161 runs in 20 overs to win the match and take the 3-match T20I series 2-0. 

Explosive batter Finn Allen was dismissed in the 2nd over after scoring just 3 runs by Arshdeep Singh. Mark Chapman, who came in for Kane Williamson, managed 12 runs with 2 fours before getting dismissed in the 6th over.

Thereon, Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips got together, as these two added 86 runs off 63 balls for the 3rd wicket. This partnership also attained the record of being the biggest partnership for New Zealand in all T20Is at McLean Park, Napier. 

While Devon Conway scored 59 runs off 49 balls with 5 fours & 2 sixes while Glenn Phillips smashed 54 runs off 33 balls with 5 fours & 3 sixes. James Neesham was dismissed for a duck in the 18th over as New Zealand lacked a good finish to their innings. 

For India, Mohammed Siraj emerged as the best bowler with 4 wickets to his name in 4 overs while conceding just 17 runs at an impressive economy of 4.20. Arshdeep Singh on the other hand picked up 4 wickets for 37 runs in his 4 overs. The other Indian bowlers – Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal and Harshal Patel went wicketless. 

Arshdeep and Siraj bowled beautifully in the death overs as New Zealand suffered a lower middle-order batting collapse in the 16th over, where New Zealand went from 130/3 to 160/10 in 19.4 overs. 

Also Read: Afghanistan's Next Generation Of Cricketers On The Dusty Pitches Of Kabul

Earlier, New Zealand captain Tim Southee won the toss & opted to bat first against India in the 3rd T20I. Both teams made one change each to their playing XI – Mark Chapman came in for Kane Williamson in the Kiwis' playing XI while Harshal Patel came in for Washington Sundar in team India. This match is being played at McLean Park, Napier. 

Brief Score:

  • NZ – 160/10 in 19.4 overs (Conway - 59(49), Siraj - 4/17)
  • IND – 75/4 in 9 overs (Pandya - 30*(18), Southee - 2/27)