Explained: The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has clarified that Australian pacer Mitchell Starc's contentious catch of England batter Ben Duckett near the end of day four of the second Ashes 2023 Test at Lord's was ruled not out by the third umpire because the fielder did not have full control over his movements.
Australia thought they had claimed the key wicket of Duckett in the day's dying embers, after the England left-hander top-edged a Cameron Green delivery to deep fine-leg.The ball was grasped by Starc running and sliding to his left, though replays showed the ball was scraped across the turf by the Australian fielder in the moments afterward.
Law 33.3 of the MCC's Laws of Cricket states that "the act of making a catch shall start from the time when the ball first comes into contact with a fielder’s person and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement."