Mumbai Indians In WPL 2024: Preview, Squad & Schedule

Mumbai Indians will start their WPL 2024 campaign against Delhi capitals on Feb 23 At M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Rawat Karan Karan
By Rawat Karan Karan February 21, 2024 • 09:38 AM
Mumbai Indians WPL 2024 Squad Schedule Preview
Mumbai Indians WPL 2024 Squad Schedule Preview (Image Source: Google)

The second edition of the Women's Premier League (WPL 2024) will kick off on February 12 with a rematch between the defending Champions Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals. The Mumbai Indians will defend their title, and they will look to make it two in a row. MI is the most successful team in franchise competition history, and they started the WPL as the inaugural champions.

Five teams will compete in 22 games, and the final will be held on March 17, a week before the start of the IPL 2024. All these games will be played at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru and Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.


WPL 2024: Mumbai Indians Preview

The WPL 2023-winning captain, Harmanpreet Kaur, will be back and will captain under the coaching of Charlotte Edwards. This is a deadly combo, as the world has already seen last season. The franchise picked up five players at the WPL 2024 auction to fill up the gap in their team. Shabnim Ismail (INR 1.2 crore) was the costliest player for them at the auction.

The franchise also bought four Indian players. However, MI has kept their core players who did well for them in 2023. It is expected to be a similar kind of playing XI for them that was there last season. Hayley Matthews, Amelia Kerr and Nat Sciver Brunt are the two star all-rounders who can win games with the bat and the ball.

A lot will also depend on how the captain performs, as Harmanpreet's current form is a bit rusty. Apart from that, MI also has the luxury of having Indian match-winners on their side. Players like Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia, and Saika Ishaque are regular performers for India at the highest level. Hence, MI looks very strong on paper at the moment.

Mumbai Indians' Squad for WPL 2024

Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryo, Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Hayley Matthews, Humaira Kazi, Issy Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia, Shabnim Ismail, S Sajana, Amandeep Kaur, Fatima Jaffer, Keerthana Balakrishnan

Read More

Cricket Scorecard