X close
X close

Border-Gavaskar Trophy: History And All The Numbers From The Prestigious Test Series

India are set to host Australia for the 4-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy in February-March 2023.

Rishabh Gautam
By Rishabh Gautam February 03, 2023 • 13:49 PM

Border Gavaskar Trophy stats: India are set to host Australia for the 4-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy in February-March 2023. This series is especially crucial for team India, as their qualification to WTC Finals would depend on the result of this series. 

Australia and India are currently placed 1st and 2nd respectively on the ICC Test Team Rankings and hence their contest is expected to be a blockbuster. The first Test is scheduled to be played in Nagpur from February 9th. 


India and Australia have faced off against each in 50 Test matches (12 series) from 1947 to 1992. In 1992, the trophy was named 'Border Gavaskar' to honour two legends from these two teams, Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar. The first Border-Gavaskar Trophy was played in 1996-97. 

India have won the last three Border-Gavaskar Trophies, with their last series win coming in 2020-21 in Australia. 

While Australia have named a full-strength squad for the Test series against India, the hosts are suffering from a few injury setbacks and may not be able to field their best side in all 4 matches. 

Squads for Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023

  • India (for first two Tests) – Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.
  • Australia – Pat Cummins (captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Series Results till now

India and Australia have played 27 Test matches against each other since their first encounter in 1947-48. Australia have a slight edge with 12 series wins while India have won 10 series. Five series have ended in a draw. 

Out of these, 14 Test series have been played in India where the home team has an 8-4 lead, with two series ending in a draw. 

Eight out of these 14 series played in India have been played for Border-Gavaskar Trophy, where team India is dominating with a 7-1 lead along with a 16-5 win-loss record in 25 Tests in India. 

Australia won only one Border-Gavaskar Trophy, in 2004-05 where the 'Mighty Australians' won by a margin of 2-1. In the last three Test series in India, the home team have won all three Border-Gavaskar Trophies. 

India vs Australia Head-to-Head in Tests

  • Total – 102
  • India – 30
  • Australia – 43
  • Drawn – 28
  • Tied – 1

The last Border-Gavaskar Trophy was played in Australia in 2020-21 and was an epic series, termed by many as the 'Best Test series' of this century. After India was bowled out for just 36 runs in the first Test, and depleted of the majority of their regular players, a young inexperienced Indian team bounced back with a win in Melbourne, a hard-fought draw in Sydney, and an unbelievable record-breaking win at the Gabba. 

However, Gabba's hero Rishabh Pant won't be a part of team India in the upcoming Border-Gavaskar Trophy due to a motor accident. 

India and Australia Recent Form Guide:

  • India: W, W, L, W, W, L, L, W, W, D
  • Australia: D, W, W, W, W, L, W, W, D, D 

Also Read: Cricket Tales

(most recent first; W - Win, L - Loss, D - Draw)

Australia Tour of India 2023

  • First Test: February 9-13, Nagpur
  • Second Test: February 17-21, Delhi
  • Third Test: March 1-5, Dharamsala
  • Fourth Test: March 9-13, Ahmedabad
  • First ODI: March 17, Mumbai
  • Second ODI: March 19, Visakhapatnam
  • Third ODI: March 22, Chennai