X close
X close

Stats: Top 5 Teams With Most Wins In T20Is

Teams with most wins Twenty20 (T20I) International matches (Top 5)

Rishabh Gautam
By Rishabh Gautam February 26, 2022 • 15:46 PM

The twenty20 format made its debut with a match between England and New Zealand women's team on 5th August 2004, which New Zealand won by 9 runs. On 17 February 2005, in the first-ever men's Twenty20 International match Australia defeated New Zealand. 

However, this format gained fame when India won the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 in South Africa, which gave rise to T20 cricket's extravaganza, the Indian Premier League, after which the t-format was largely popularized and admired by the fans. 


Here are the top 5 teams who have won the most matches in the Twenty20 format. 

#5. New Zealand (78 wins)

The Kiwis have won 78 out of the 160 T20I matches they have played till now. Eight matches have ended in a tie while four matches returned no result. New Zealand's win ratio remains 1.114, with the highest score of 243/5 against West Indies in the 3rd T20I at Mount Maunganui in 2018. After opting to bat first, NZ opener Colin Munro smacked 104 runs off just 53 balls, while his opening partner Martin Guptill also scored 63 runs off 38 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes. New Zealand won the match by 119 runs as West Indies were restricted to 124 in 16.3 overs. 

#4. Australia (82 wins)

Australia have registered 82 wins in the 158 T20Is they have played, lost 70 of them, 3 matches were tied while 3 matches ended without a result. Australia has a win/loss ratio of 1.171, were runners up in the T20 World cup 2010. They recently managed to win their maiden title in the ICC World Cup 2021. Australia's highest score in this format came against Sri Lanka in the 1st T20 at Pallekele in 2016, where a monstrous ton by Glenn Maxwell, who was promoted as an opener powered Australia to 263/3 in 20 overs. Maxwell scored an unbeaten 145 runs off just 65 balls with 14 fours and 9 sixes. In reply, Sri Lanka scored 178/9 in 20 overs and Australia won the match by 85 runs. 

#3. South Africa (85 wins)

South Africa have never managed to win a T20 World Cup or even reach the finals even once, but are placed on the 3rd spot in this list with 85 wins in 147 matches while losing 60 of them. South Africa's highest team total of 241/6 came against England in the 2nd T20I at Centurion in 2009. After deciding to bat first, SA openers Graeme Smith 88(44) and Loots Bosman 94(45) helped South Africa to a mammoth total. South African bowlers halted England to a total of 157/8 in 20 overs as SA won the match by 84 runs. 

#2. India (99 wins)

Team India, the winners of the first-ever T20 World Cup in 2007, are at the moment on a 10-match winning streak in the format and are just 1 win away to become only the 2nd team to reach 100 T20I wins in history. India have won 99 matches out of the 157 games they have played, losing 51 of them with a W/L ratio of 1.941, which is the best among top 5 teams till now. Not only this, Team India's overall T20I average (31.13) and runs per over average (8.35) also stands best amongst the top 5 teams. India's highest team total of 260/5 came against Sri Lanka in the 2nd T20I at Indore in 2017. After being asked to bat first, Indian openers 118(43) and KL Rahul 89(49) thrashed the Lankan bowlers and led India to 260 runs. Sri Lanka were bowled out for 172 runs in 17.2 overs and India won the match by 88 runs. 

#1. Pakistan (117 wins)

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction Overview List Of All Players & Teams

Neighbour and rivals Pakistan stand atop this list with 117 wins in 189 matches. Pakistan have lost 64 matches in the format, while 3 games have ended in a tie and 5 matches have returned no result. Pakistan scored 232/6 in 20 overs against England in the 1st T20I at Nottingham in 2021, which is their highest score in T20I matches. Golden opening pair of Pakistan, Mohammad Rizwan 63(41) and captain Babar Azam 85(49) etched an opening partnership of 150 runs in 88 balls as Pakistan set a target of 233 against the hosts. England in reply were bowled out for 201 in 19.2 overs as Shaheen Afridi picked up 3 wickets and was adjudged the player of the match for his 3 wickets as well as 3 catches.