X close
X close

Royal Challengers Bangalore Team Overview - Records, Journey, IPL 2021 Squad & Schedule

Rishabh Gautam
By Rishabh Gautam
March 31, 2021 • 00:58 AM View: 1607

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), captained by Virat Kohli has been a fan favourite team ever since the establishment of the Indian Premiere League in 2008. Even though it is yet to win its maiden IPL Trophy, they have played 3 times in the final but unfortunately failed to win the title.

This year also, they have a team that can win the tournament. Batting Line Up backed by the experience of Virat Kohli & AB de Villiers, to bowlers who possess the ability to provide a breakthrough anytime, like Yuzvendra Chahal & Kyle Jamieson.


Captain Kohli & RCB would have set their eyes on the cup this time around with the perfect balance of Youngsters, and Batsmen & Bowlers. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Squad For IPL 2021

Batsmen: Virat Kohli (Captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Pavan Deshpande, Sachin Baby, Rajat Patidar, Finn Allen

All-Rounders: Washington Sundar, Harshal Patel, Daniel Sams, Kyle Jamieson, Glenn Maxwell, Dan Christian, Suyash Prabhudesai

Wicketkeepers: AB de Villiers, KS Bharat, Mohammed Azharuddeen

Bowlers: Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Pavan Deshpande, Shahbaz Ahmed, Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson

RCB's IPL Records

  • RCB has the record for the highest no. of runs in an IPL match, 263-5 against Pune Warriors India in the 2013 edition.
  • Virat Kohli, the captain of the RCB side, is also the highest scorer for the team in IPL with a staggering 5,878 runs. AB de Villiers is just behind him with 4,849 runs. 
  • In the bowling department, Yuzvendra Chahal is the highest wicket-taker of the team with 121 wickets. Although the second-highest wicket-taker in the team is Harshal Patel with just 46 wickets which shows that the bowling line up is still a bit inexperienced. 

RCB's IPL Journey

2008: Won 4 matches, lost 10. Finished seventh in the league standings.

2009: Reached the finals. Ended up as the runners up after getting defeated by Hyderabad Deccan Chargers in the finals. Won 9 games and lost 7 games, finished 3rd in the league standings. 

2010: Reached the semi-final stage. Won 7 and lost 7 games. Finished 4th in the league stage.

2011: Reached the finals. Ended up as the runners up after getting defeated by Chennai Super Kings in the finals. Won 10 games and lost 6. Finished 1st in the league table. 

2012: Failed to reach the playoffs. Won 8 and lost 7 matches, finished 5th in the league table.

2013: Failed to reach the playoffs.  Won 9 and lost 7 matches, finished 5th in the league table.

2014: Won 5 and lost 9 matches in the tournament. Finished 7th.

2015: Finished at 3rd spot in the league table. Won 8 and lost 6 matches. 

2016: Reached the finals. Defeated by Sunrisers Hyderabad. Won 9 and lost 7 matches.

2017: Won 3 matches, and lost 10. Finished 8th in the league. 

2018: Failed to make it to the playoffs. Won 6 & lost 8 matches.

2019: Finished last. Won 5 and lost 8 matches and were placed 8th in the league table.

2020: Won 7 matches & Lost 7 matches. They Finished 4th and were defeated in the eliminator match.

Read More

Win Big, Make Your Cricket Prediction Now