X close
X close

Wisden Announces Top 5 Cricketers Of The Year; Includes Two Team India Players

Wisden 5 cricketers of the year includes Devon Conway, Ollie Robinson, Dan van Niekerk, Rohit Sharma & Jasprit Bumrah

Rishabh Gautam
By Rishabh Gautam April 21, 2022 • 11:37 AM

Wisden has announced the top 5 cricketers of the year which includes India's all-format captain Rohit Sharma and premium pacer Jasprit Bumrah. Apart from these two, New Zealand's Devon Conway has found a place along with English fast bowler Ollie Robinson and South Africa women's team captain Dane van Niekerk. 

The 2022 edition of Wisden Cricketer's Almanack has named former England test captain Joe Root as the Leading Cricket. Root had a stellar season in 2021 as he smacked 1,708 runs in 15 tests with an impeccable average of 61. However, his brilliance with the bat failed to get the desired results for the England test cricket team and consequently, resigned from the captaincy. 


Meanwhile, Team India players - Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah performed brilliantly on India's tour of England in 2021. Subsequently, India was leading the test series 2-1 when the tour had to abruptly end due to a rise in Covid cases. Rohit Sharma was the top scorer for team India with 368 runs to his name, while Jasprit Bumrah displayed a lethal bowling performance, registering 18 wickets to his name. 

New Zealand opener Devon Conway smacked a double century on his test debut, which was played at the prestigious Lord's stadium in England. Due to his remarkable performance on his debut, the Kiwi team managed to win the series 1-0 against the English. While Dane van Niekerk proved herself to be an able leader, leading The Oval Invcincibles to a title win in the opening season of The Hundred. 

Also Read: IPL 2022 - Scorecard

England fast bowler Ollie Robinson showed tremendous skill with the ball as he registered 28 wickets in his debut season for the England cricket team.