X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

The journey to ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020 set to begin

by Sahir Usman Jul 31, 2018 • 13:14 PM

July 31 (CRICKETNMORE) - The road to the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020 in South Africa begins today with more teams than ever before in an expanded qualification process.

Due to the depth in strength in the Asia, Africa and Europe regions, a two division qualification pathway will begin in 2018. Teams from the Americas and EAP region will have a one division qualifying process that gets underway in 2019, with the winner of each regional Division 1 claiming five ICC U19 Cricket World Cup places.

Also Read: CPL 2018: Barbados Tridents replace Junaid Khan with Mohammad Irfan

In Europe, 12 teams will have the chance to qualify for South Africa. The U19 CWC 2020 pathway starts at the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Qualifier Europe Division 2 that includes nine teams competing for three spots. The three qualifiers will join Jersey, Ireland and Scotland in Division 1 in 2019, to compete for the European qualification spot to the U19 Cricket World Cup.

Division 2 takes place between 31 July and 8 August 2018 in England, where Belgium, Denmark, France, Guernsey, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and Spain will compete for three Division 1 places.

For the Africa region, there will be 14 teams across both divisions, 11 in Division 2, with three Division 1 positions up for grabs. Those three teams will join Namibia, Kenya and Uganda in Division 1, with the top team qualifying for South Africa 2020.

Africa’s Division 2 begins next month where Botswana, the Gambia, Ghana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Tanzania and Zambia will meet in South Africa between 19 and 28 August hoping to be the three teams to progress to Africa Division 1 2019.

ICC Media Release