X close
X close

Sri Lanka Women's Announce 15-Member Squad For T20 Asia Cup

The seven-team 2022 Women's Asia Cup will be the eighth edition of the competition which will be played in T20I format this year.

By IANS News September 20, 2022 • 20:48 PM

One of the country's most prolific batters, Chamari Athapaththu will lead Sri Lanka Women in the T20 Asia Cup to be held next year.

The Sri Lanka Cricket Selection Committee on Tuesday selected a 15-member squad to take part in the Women's T20I Asia Cup 2022, which will take place from October 1-16, 2022 in Bangladesh.


The squad was approved by the Honourable Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs, Roshan Ranasinghe.

The seven-team 2022 Women's T20I Asia Cup will be the eighth edition of the competition. Besides Sri Lanka and host Bangladesh, the other teams in the fray are India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and the United Arab Emirates.

The tournament started as a One-Day International event in 2004 but switched to a T20 format in 2012.

Also Read: Live Cricket Scorecard

The Sri Lanka squad:
Chamari Athapaththu (Captain), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Kaveesha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Anushka Sanjeevani (wk), Kaushini Nuthyanga, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Malsha Shehani, Madushika Meththananda, Inoka Ranaweera, Rashmi Silva, Sugandika Kumari, Achini Kulasooriya, Tharika Sewwandi.