Sarfraz Ahmed named captain of ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Team

Mon, Jun 19, 2017 10:11 pm Posted: Cricketnmore Editorial
Sarfraz Ahmed
June 19 (CRICKETNMORE) - Sarfraz Ahmed named captain of the side that includes seven players from the two finalists The ICC today announced the Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which includes players from five of the eight participating sides, with Pakistan’s Sarfraz Ahmed as captain.

Read: Latest ODI Team Rankings Post Champions Trophy 2017

The side was selected by a jury of cricket experts, which included former captains Michael Atherton of England, India’s Sourav Ganguly, Ramiz Raja of Pakistan as well as Lawrence Booth (Editor, Wisden Almanack and cricket writer, The Mail) and Julian Guyer (cricket correspondent, Agence France-Presse), with ICC General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice, as chairman.

The jury was tasked with picking a balanced side on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used, but were not the sole basis for selection.

Read: Pakistan a serious contender for 2019 World Cup, feels Shahid Afridi

The side includes four Pakistanis, three Indians, three Englishmen and one Bangladeshi, with Kane Williamson of New Zealand as 12th man.

The Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 (in batting order) is:

i) Shikhar Dhawan (India) (338 runs)i) Shikhar Dhawan (India) (338 runs)

ii) Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan) 252 runs)

iii) Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh) (293 runs)

iv) Virat Kohli (India) (258 runs)

v) Joe Root (England) (258 runs)

vi) Ben Stokes (England) (184 runs and three wickets)

vii) Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan) (captain) (wicketkeeper) (76 runs and nine dismissals)

viii) Adil Rashid (England) (seven wickets)

ix) Junaid Khan (Pakistan) (eight wickets)

x) Bhuvneshwar Kumar  (India) (seven wickets)

xi) Hassan Ali (Pakistan) (13 wickets)

xii) Kane Williamson (New Zealand (12th) (244 runs)

CT2017 - Top 5 Bowlers


#Sarfraz Ahmed #ICC Champions Trophy 2017 #ICC Champions Trophy