X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Vijay Shankar named Tamil Nadu captain

By Saurabh Sharma Dec 03, 2019 • 13:15 PM

Chennai, Dec 3: All-rounder Vijay Shankar will lead Tamil Nadu while Baba Aparajith will serve as his deputy in the upcoming Ranji Trophy beginning December 9.

The squad, which was announced by the state selection committee of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) on Monday, includes ace India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and out of favour opener Murali Vijay.

Also Read: Ross Taylor becomes second New Zealand batsman to score 7000 Test runs

The team has been named for the first two Ranji Trophy matches against Karnataka and Himachal Pradesh.

"Washington Sundar will join the team for the second match and K Mukunth will be released from the squad," said TNCA in a tweet.

Tamil Nadu has already reached the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy (50-over tournament) and Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 (20-over tournament) in the 2019-20 season.

Squad: Vijay Shankar (captain), B Aparajith (vice captain), M Vijay, Abhinav Mukund, K Dinesh Karthik, N Jagadeesan, R Ashwin, R Sai Kishore, T Natarajan, K Vignesh, Abhishek Tanwar, M Ashwin, M Siddharth, Shahrukh Khan, K Mukunth.