X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Mumbai Cricket Association selectors tender mass resignation

by Saurabh Sharma Mar 15, 2019 • 22:51 PM

Mumbai, March 15 (CRICKETNMORE):  In a significant move, the entire selection committee of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) led by chairman Ajit Agarkar tendered their resignations on Friday.

The committee, which also includes Nilesh Kulkarni, Sunil More and Ravi Thakkar, put in their papers a day after the conclusion of the 2018-19 domestic season.

Also Read: For Virat Kohli, 2010 game vs Mumbai was his best for RCB

The mass resignation comes on a day when the MCA's ad-hoc committee meeting was reportedly due to sack the entire selection committee.

The selectors reportedly sent their resignation letters to the ad-hoc committee and MCA chief executive C.S. Naik.

During the MCA's Special General Meeting (SGM) last month, several members had passed a resolution to remove the selectors from their positions.

The MCA's Cricket Improvement Committee (CIC) had set the resolution aside, stating that the selection panel's commitment could not be questioned. The ad-hoc committee then sought legal opinion on the issue.

The controversy comes in the wake of a rather poor run by Mumbai in the domestic circuit as the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy is the only title they have managed over the last two years.