Karnataka thrash Maharashtra by 9 wickets to enter Vijay Hazare final
X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Karnataka thrash Maharashtra by 9 wickets to enter Vijay Hazare final

by Saurabh Sharma Feb 24, 2018 • 21:39 PM

New Delhi, Feb 24 (Cricketnmore) Karnataka hammered Maharashtra by nine wickets in a semi-final of the Vijay Hazare 50-over domestic cricket tournament here on Saturday.

Off-spinner Krishnappa Gowtham (3/26) and medium pacer M. Prasidh Krishna (2/26) helped Karnataka bowl out Maharashtra for 160 in 44.3 overs. Opening batsman Shrikant Mundhe (50) and Naushad Shaikh (42) were crucial contributors for the western side.

Also Read: India clinch women's T20I series against South Africa

During the chase, opening batsmen Mayank Agarwal (81) and Karun Nair (70 not out) shared a 155-run partnership as Karnataka overhauled the total with 19.3 overs and nine wickets to spare. Ravikumar Samarth (3 not out) was unbeaten alongside his captain Nair.

The 27-year-old right-hander Mayank continued his red-hot form, hitting eight fours and a six out of the 86 deliveries he faced.

Also Read: South Africa opt to field in 3rd T20I vs India, Virat Kohli out with stiff back

In this tournament, he has posted scores of 109, 84, 28, 102, 89, 140, 81.

In the final on Tuesday, Karnataka will meet either Saurashtra or Andhra Pradesh -- who face-off on Sunday.

Brief scores: Maharashtra: 160 all out in 44.3 overs (Shrikant Mundhe 50, Naushad Shaikh 42; Krishnappa Gowtham 3/26, M. Prasidh Krishna 2/26) vs Karnataka: 164/1 in 30.3 overs (Mayank Agarwal 81, Karun Nair 70 not out; Satyajeet Bachhav 1/32).