X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Indian Women Cricket team eye 7th consecutive Asia Cup title

by Sahir Usman Jun 03, 2018 • 04:26 AM

June 3 (CRICKETNMORE) - Six time champions and pre-tournament favourites India will kick off their campaign in the seventh women's Asia Cup against a relatively weaker Malaysian side at the Kinrara Academy Oval here on Sunday.

Organised by the Asian Cricket Council, this will be the third successive edition that will be played in the T20 format with six teams competing over eight days for the title. Besides India and hosts Malaysia, the other teams are Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Thailand.

Also Read: 2nd Test, Day 2: England build 128-run lead over Pakistan

The winners will get the perfect leg-up in form and confidence as they build towards women's World T20 in the Caribbean in November.

After facing the hosts on Sunday, India will be up against Thailand on Monday before facing Bangladesh on Wednesday. The Harmanpreet Kaur-led side will then take on Sri Lanka on Thursday before playing their final league game against arch-rivals Pakistan on Friday.

Going into the opener, an experienced Indian side, comprising the likes of seasoned campaigners in Harmanpreet, Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami are likely to pull off a comfortable win.