X close
X close

India vs South Africa, 2nd T20I - Cricket Match Prediction, Fantasy 11 Tips & Probable 11

India thrashed South Africa by 8 wickets in the 1st T20I and will look to seal the series with another win in the 2nd T20I In Guwahati. 

Rishabh Gautam
By Rishabh Gautam October 02, 2022 • 17:05 PM

India thrashed South Africa by 8 wickets in the 1st T20I and will look to seal the series with another win in the 2nd T20I In Guwahati. 

IND vs SA: Match Preview:


Chasing a low total, Indian batters faced a challenge against a lethal South African bowling attack. Captain Rohit Sharma was dismissed for a duck and Virat Kohli at number 3 scored mere 3 runs off 9 balls. However, KL Rahul showed grit as he held the crease on an otherwise bowler-friendly pitch, scoring 51* runs off 56 balls. Suryakumar Yadav on the other hand maintained his impeccable form, smacking 50* runs off 33 balls with 5 fours & 3 sixes. 

Indian bowlers set the game up in the first innings itself, as Deepak Chahar and Arshdeep Singh grabbed 5 wickets in the first 15 balls of the match, shattering the South African top order. As many as four Proteas batters were dismissed for a duck. Arshdeep picked up 3 wickets while Deepak and Harshal Patel managed 2 wickets each to halt the tourists to a low total. Ravi Ashwin, who didn't manage to pick a wicket, was the most economical bowler, conceding only 8 runs in 4 overs with a maiden, where the African spinner went for plenty. 

The top three South African batters scored a total of 1 run with 2 batters, Temba Bavuma and Rilee Rossouw going for a duck. David Miller and Tristan Stubbs were dismissed for a golden duck. However, Aiden Markram looked good during his 24-ball stay at the crease, scoring 25 runs with 3 fours & a six. Pacer Wayne Parnell, who came out to bat in the powerplay, scored 24 runs while spinner Keshav Maharaj remained the top scorer with 41 runs off 35 balls. The African batters would have to step up in the 2nd T20I to save the series. 

Defending a low total, South African bowlers still presented a tough challenge against team India. Rohit Sharma was dismissed for a duck in the 3rd over by Kagiso Rabada, who ended up with figures of 1/16 in 4 overs with a maiden. Anrich Nortje also picked up a wicket on the very first ball of his spell, that too of Virat Kohli, but went for 32 runs in 3 overs. Wayne Parnell was economical with only 14 runs in 4 overs. 

IND vs SA: Match Details

  • Date – Sunday, October 2nd, 2022
  • Time – 07:00 PM IST
  • Venue – Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati

IND vs SA: Where to watch?

The India vs South Africa 2nd T20I will be telecast on Star Sports Network on TV, while one can stream the match online on Hotstar. 

Who Will Today Cricket Match? : Today's Match Prediction? IND vs SA

Although the Indian team managed to win the 1st T20I with ease, South Africa are expected to present a stronger challenge and the 2nd T20I between these two teams will most probably be a close contest.

IND vs SA Head-to-Head:

  • Total – 21
  • India – 12
  • South Africa – 8
  • No Result – 01

IND vs SA Team News:

  • India –  Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out of the remainder of the T20I series against South Africa, while Mohammed Siraj has been named his replacement. Ravichandran Ashwin made his way into the squad in place of Yuzvendra Chahal and is expected to play the 2nd T20I.
  • South Africa – There are no injury updates from the Proteas team as of now and can field the same team in the 2nd T20I.

IND vs SA Probable Playing XI:

  • India – Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Arshdeep Singh
  • South Africa – Quinton de Kock (wk), Temba Bavuma (c), Rilee Rossouw/Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

Also Read: Live Cricket Scorecard

IND vs SA Fantasy XI:

  • Wicket-keeper – Quinton de Kock
  • Batters – Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, David Miller
  • All-rounders – Axar Patel, Aiden Markram, Wayne Parnell
  • Bowlers – Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje