X close
X close

IND vs NZ 2nd ODI: Twitter Erupts As Team India Drop Sanju Samson Yet Again

Sanju Samson was benched yet again as India made two changes to their playing XI for the 2nd ODI against New Zealand.

Rishabh Gautam
By Rishabh Gautam November 27, 2022 • 11:54 AM

After losing the 1st ODI by 7 wickets, team India made two changes to their playing XI for the 2nd ODI against New Zealand in Hamilton on November 27th (Sunday). A strategical change to accommodate a sixth bowling option, all-rounder Deepak Hooda replaced wicketkeeper-batter Sanju Samson while Shardul Thakur was replaced by Deepak Chahar after a below-par outing in the 1st ODI.

However, benching Sanju Samson didn't go down well with the fans and a Twitter user erupted on the social media platform, stating that Sanju Samson will show his worth if he's given 'unlimited' chances like Rishabh Pant. Pant has been out of touch for a while now and his exclusion is also being demanded by some seasonal fans on Twitter. 


Another user went on to express his frustration, saying that why they include Sanju Samson in the squad if he's going to be benched for the majority of the tour. While another user targeted BCCI's thinking, tweeting "This kind of behaviour of bcci not for good for an aspirant cricketer who think their carrier in future cricket. How can you promote young talent by such thing same on you."

Rishabh Pant flopped in the T20I series where Sanju Samson wasn't included in the playing XI even once. In the 1st ODI, both the players were given a spot in the playing XI, where Pant scored 15 runs off 23 balls while Sanju scored 36 runs in 38 balls. 

Also Read: Roston Chase Picks Up His All-Time XI, Includes 3 Indians

While talking about the match, after a rain-induced break, the game has been reduced to 29 overs a side. While writing this piece, India are at 69/1 in 11 overs with Gill (42*) and Suryakumar (17*) at the crease. Opener and captain Shikhar Dhawan (3) scored 2 balls after the game resumed as Matt Henry grabbed the important wicket. Earlier, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss & opted to field first against India at Seddon Park, Hamilton.