ICC World T20 Australia 2020 journey to begin in Argentina
X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

ICC World T20 Australia 2020 journey to begin in Argentina

by Sahir Usman Feb 27, 2018 • 22:36 PM

Feb.27 (CRICKETNMORE) - The journey to the men’s ICC World T20 2020 gets under way in Argentina this month with the first of 12 regional qualifiers taking place as the International Cricket Council confirmed an improved qualification process for the event.

In all, 61 teams will compete in 12 regional qualification groups during 2018 across five regions – Africa (3 groups), Americas (2), Asia (2), East Asia Pacific (2) and Europe (3). The top 25 sides from these will then contest five regional finals in 2019 with seven progressing to the ICC World T20 2020 qualifier.

Also Read: South Africa-Australia series could see interesting tussle for second place

There they will meet six teams who competed in the last ICC World T20 event, but who are outside the automatic qualification spots that come from being in the top 10 of the MRF Rankings as of 31 December 2018, as well as the hosts of the qualifier. The top six teams in the global qualifier will book their place at the World T20 2020 in Australia.

The ICC World T20 Americas group B qualifier begins on 26 February in Argentina and includes Argentina, Bermuda and Cayman Islands.

Also Read: Dawlat Zadran takes hat-trick as Afghanistan beat Windies by 29 runs

This new qualification structure, based on merit opens up the opportunity for more teams to take fewer steps to compete in an ICC global event.

ICC Media Release