X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

ICC announces Women’s World T20 2018 Team of the Tournament

by Sahir Usman Nov 25, 2018 • 13:17 PM

Nov.25 (CRICKETNMORE) - The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the Team of the Tournament of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018.

The ICC today announced the team of the tournament of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 based on performances during the 16-day tournament held across three venues in the West Indies.

Also Read: Australia wins Women's World T20

Three players each from England and India, two from Australia, and one each from Pakistan, New Zealand and the Windies have been named in the XI, which was selected by an esteemed selection panel that included three former international players.

India captain Harmanpreet Kaur, one of two captains to make the squad along with Pakistan’s Javeria Khan, has been named to lead the team, with Player of the Tournament Alyssa Healy of Australia, India’s left-handed opener Smriti Mandhana and England’s Amy Jones, who was also the designated wicket-keeper, chosen to bat ahead of her.

All-rounders Deandra Dottin of the Windies and Ellyse Perry of Australia, and England fast bowler Anya Shrubsole are the seam bowlers in the squad with off-spinner Leigh Kasperek of New Zealand, leg-spinner Poonam Yadav of India and left-arm spinner Kirstie Gordon of England the spinners. Bangladesh new-ball bowler Jahanara Alam has been named as the 12th player.

The selection panel comprised former players and commentators Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra and Ebony Rainford-Brent, journalist Melinda Farrell, and ICC’s General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice.

ICC Women’s World T20 2018 Team of the Tournament (in batting order)

1. Alyssa Healy (Australia) – 225 runs
2. Smriti Mandhana (India) – 178 runs
3. Amy Jones (England, wicket-keeper) – 107 runs, 5 dismissals
4. Harmanpreet Kaur (India, captain) – 183 runs
5. Deandra Dottin (Windies) – 121 runs, 10 wickets
6. Javeria Khan (Pakistan) – 136 runs
7. Ellyse Perry (Australia) – 60 runs, 9 wickets
8. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand) – 8 wickets
9. Anya Shrubsole (England) – 7 wickets
10. Kirstie Gordon (England) – 8 wickets
11. Poonam Yadav (India) – 8 wickets

12th: Jahanara Alam (Bangladesh) – 6 wickets