X close
X close

Gurbaz Gets Caught Out, But Then Gets A Six Due To Fielder's Fault; Watch Video Here

Rahmanullah Gurbaz went on to score 84 runs off 45 balls for Afghanistan against Sri Lanka in the first match of Super 4 stage of Asia Cup 2022.

Rishabh Gautam
By Rishabh Gautam September 03, 2022 • 21:29 PM

The first match of the Super 4 stage of Asia Cup 2022 is being played between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. In this match, Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka opted to bowl first after winning the toss, after which Afghan opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz mercilessly thrashed Lankan bowlers. Gurbaz completed his fifty in just 22 balls, but prior to this a bit of drama was witnessed on the field during which the happy & laughing Lankan faces were turned to disappointed expressions in a moment. 

The Sri Lankan team had an excellent chance to dismiss on-fire Rahmanullah Gurbaz but fate favoured the fearless and Gurbaz was safe despite getting caught out. At the time of this incident, Gurbaz was batting on a low score of 7 runs. 


This happened in the 3rd over of the Afghanistan innings, being bowled by Sri Lankan spinner Maheesh Theekshana. Gurbaz had already smacked a huge six on the 4th delivery of the over and seemed in his typical big-hitting mood. Gurbaz went for a big hit on the 5th delivery of the over as well, however, his hand came off the bat this time during the shot and couldn't power it properly and safely across the ropes. 

The ball went straight to long-on, where Danushka Gunathilaka completed a good catch. At first sight, the batter seemed dismissed and the umpire soft-signalled the same. During this, Gurbaz had almost walked off the ground and into the pavilion and #3 batter Ibrahim Zadran had almost reached the middle. However, this is where the drama began - Gurbaz was stopped at the boundary, Zadran was sent back to the dugout and the umpire decided to review the decision and watch the replay. 

Also Read: Asia Cup 2022 Scorecard

The replay was shown on the big screen where it was cleared that Gunathilaka had touched the cushion on the boundary rope while taking the catch and the third umpire adjudged the batter not out. Gurbaz went on to score 84 runs off 45 balls with 4 fours & 6 sixes.