X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Gates 3 & 4 of Feroz Shah Kotla to be named after Anjum Chopra

by Saurabh Sharma Nov 20, 2017 • 21:33 PM

New Delhi, Nov 20 (Cricketnmore) A month after the Gate No.2 was dedicated to former India opener Virender Sehwag, the Ferozshah Kotla Ground in the national capital will have another couple of gates named after ex-Indian women's team captain Anjum Chopra.

The Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) has decided to name the Gate No. 3 and 4 of the stadium after the cricketer-turned-commentator, who represented the country in six World Cups.

Also Read: Cricketing greats to mentor Pro Star League's camp

"In order to recognize, encourage and reward the contribution that women deserve in our country and in her sports, a woman cricketer has been chosen too and it has been decided to name a gate in the name of Arjuna award winner and Padamshri awardee, Anjum Chopra," a DDCA statement read.

"Gates 3-4 will be now be renamed as Anjum Chopra Gate," it added.

In addition to that, the DDCA has planned to name two stands of the stadium after former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi and former India all-rounder Mohinder Amarnath.

The DDCA led by retired Justice Vikramajit Sen, has also planned to host its first Annual Conclave on November 29, where Bedi will be the keynote speaker.

The DDCA has also constituted an Honours Committee led by retired Justice Mukul Mudgal as the chairman and comprising noted commentators Narottam Puri and Ravi Chaturvedi, senior journalists Neeru Bhatia and Vijay Lokapally.