X close
X close

Flawless Indians Bury New Zealand, Complete The Clean Sweep In 3-Match T20I Series

Rishabh Gautam
By Rishabh Gautam
November 22, 2021 • 02:05 AM View: 1409

Indian bowling dismantled New Zealand batting, restricting them to 111/10 in 17.2 overs. The bowlers were effective from the start, as they dismissed Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman & Glenn Phillips in the powerplay itself. Axar Patel was the pick of the bowlers with his 3 wickets.

For New Zealand, opener Martin Guptill was the lone warrior with his knock of 51 runs in 36 balls with 4 fours & 4 sixes. However, apart from him only Seifert (17) and Ferguson (14) were able to cross the double-digit mark. 


For India, apart from Axar's 3-fer, Harshal Patel, playing his 2nd international match, also picked up 2 wickets. While Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel & Venkatesh Iyer picked up 1 scalp each. 

Indian fielding was also on fire tonight, with Ishan Kishan's 2 fabulous run-outs and an unbelievable catch by Rishabh Pant. With this win, Indians have completed the clean sweep in the 3 T20I matches series. 

This win is India's biggest win against New Zealand by the margin of runs. This was also the first series in any format for Rohit Sharma as the permanent captain & Rahul Dravid as the head coach of the Indian team and would be optimistic for the future with the win in the series. 

In the first innings, after a brilliant start provided by the openers and Kiwi spinner's comeback after the 12th over, Team India posted 184/7 against New Zealand in the 3rd T20I. For India, captain Rohit Sharma remained the highest scorer with 56 runs of 31 balls with 5 fours & 3 sixes. 

Harshal Patel (18 off 11) made a valuable contribution while Deepak Chahar smashed 19 runs in the last over by Adam Milne, with 2 fours & a six. For New Zealand, all 5 bowlers picked up wickets. Captain Santner picked up 3 while Boult, Milne, Ferguson, & Sodhi picked up 1 each.

Earlier, Indian captain Rohit Sharma won the toss & opted to bat first against New Zealand in the 3rd T20I. This match is being played at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. 

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021

Brief Scorecard

Win Big, Make Your Cricket Prediction Now