X close
X close

England Names New 18-Member Squad For ODI Series Against Pakistan, Ben Stokes To Captain

Sahil Mathur
By Sahil Mathur
July 07, 2021 • 10:58 AM View: 1141

England and Wales Cricket Board(ECB) has announced a new 18-member squad for the ODI series against Pakistan, which begins on 8th July. 

The announcement comes after the news that three members of the initial playing group and four members of the management staff had tested positive for COVID-19, and consequently, the entire squad initially selected was required to isolate.


Ben Stokes will return to the squad to captain the side and Chris Silverwood is back as Head Coach. In total, there are nine uncapped players in the squad.

"It's a great opportunity to play on the biggest stage, and for most of the players selected it's not necessarily something they would have been expecting 24 hours ago," Managing Director of England Men's Cricket, Ashley Giles said. 

"It's an exciting group of players, with some young talent and some players who have impressed at domestic level over a long period of time.

"We're in unprecedented territory, in terms of replacing an entire squad and management team, and I'm very proud of how everyone has come together in order to get it done - both those within the ECB and from the county game.

"Ben hasn't captained our ODI side before so it's a huge honour for him. We all wish him well and it's a role I'm sure he'll thrive in.

"I'd like to also put on record the thanks of the ECB to the PCB for their support and understanding during this time."

England Men's ODI Squad - Ben Stokes, Jake Ball, Danny Briggs, Brydon Carse, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Lewis Gregory,Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Dan Lawrence, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Matt Parkinson, David Payne, Phil Salt, John Simpson, James Vince 

Win Big, Make Your Cricket Prediction Now