X close
X close

BCCI Announces Schedule For IPL 2021, Big Modifications In This Season

Sahil Mathur
By Sahil Mathur
March 07, 2021 • 13:57 PM View: 1781

The IPL committee on Sunday announced the schedule for Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 which is to be held in India.

After nearly two years, the IPL extravaganza will return home with Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai & Kolkata hosting the marquee event.


The season will kickstart on 9th April 2021 in Chennai with the first match between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the Playoffs as well as the final on 30th May 2021. 

Each team is set to play at four venues during the league stage. Out of the 56 league matches, Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata & Bengaluru will host 10 matches each while Ahmedabad and Delhi will host 8 matches each. One of the highlights of this edition of the IPL 2021 is that all matches will be played at neutral venues, no team will play at their home venue. All teams will play at 4 out of 6 venues during the league stage. 

There will be a total of 11 doubleheaders where 6 teams will play three-afternoon matches & two teams will play two-afternoon matches. The afternoon games are slated for a 3:30 PM IST start while the evening games will have a 7:30 PM IST start.

The IPL 2021 will be played behind closed doors to begin with while a call on allowing spectators will be taken at a later stage of the tournament. 


Win Big, Make Your Cricket Prediction Now