X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Bates, Harmanpreet named ODI and T20I captains of 2018

by Athar Ansari Dec 31, 2018 • 13:51 PM

Dubai, Dec 31 (CRICKETNMORE): The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced the womens ODI and Twenty20 International teams of the year with New Zealands Suzie Bates named as captain of the 50-over side and Harmanpreet Kaur of India appointed captain of the shortest format.

Bates' appointment as the ODI captain is a recognition of her contribution in inspiring her side to second position in the ICC Women's Championship after three rounds, according to an ICC's statement.

Also Read: ICC announces women's ODI and T20I teams of the year

In the seven ODIs this calendar year, Bates has scored 438 runs with two centuries and a half-century. Bates is presently ranked seventh in the MRF Tyres ICC Women's Players Rankings for ODI Batters.

Harmanpreet has been rewarded for spearheading her side to the semi-finals of the ICC Women's World T20 2018 in the Caribbean in November. 

Read More