X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Australia to host two T20 World Cups in 2020

by Sahir Usman Nov 25, 2018 • 13:24 PM

Nov.25 C(RICKETNMORE) - Australia is officially next to host the newly renamed ICC T20 World Cup following the conclusion of the Women’s World T20 tournament in the West Indies.

Two T20 World Cups will be played in Australia in 2020, starting in just under 15 months’ time with the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, comprising 10 teams playing 23 matches from 21st February – 8th March 2020, followed by the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, involving 16 teams playing 45 matches from 18th October – 15th November 2020.

Also Read: ICC announces Women’s World T20 2018 Team of the Tournament

The ICC announced on Friday that the World T20 will be known as the T20 World Cup from 2020 onwards. This elevation to World Cup status outlines the importance of the shortest format of the game for all 104 Member countries. The T20 World Cup and the (50-over) Cricket World Cup are now considered equal in the game – each is the pinnacle in that format.

For the first time, T20 cricket’s global showpiece women’s and men’s competitions will be played as standalone events in the same host country and in the same year. 8 host cities and 13 venues throughout Australia will host matches, with both competitions having broad national footprints, meaning as many Australians as possible will have the chance to see the world’s best players in their backyard.

ICC Press Release