Australia thrash India by 8 wickets in 2nd T20I to level series
X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

Australia thrash India by 8 wickets in 2nd T20I to level series

by Sahir Usman Oct 10, 2017 • 22:35 PM

Guwahati, Oct 10 - An all-round Australia thrashed India by eight wickets in the second Twenty20 International (T20I) to square the three-match series 1-1 at the Assam Cricket Association (ACA) Barsapara Stadium here on Tuesday.

The 37,500-odd crowd at India's latest venue anticipated a run feast but were denied, thanks to a disciplined bowling effort from the tourists, who opted to bowl on winning the toss after a light drizzle.

Chasing a paltry 119, Australia initially got a taste of their own medicine from India's new ball pair of Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar to be reduced to 13/2.

Skipper David Warner (2) was the first man to be dismissed off a short-pitched ball from Bumrah before Bhuvneshwar struck with the wicket of the in-form Aaron Finch (8), comfortably caught by captain Virat Kohli on both occasions.

All-rounder Moises Henriques (62 not out) and Travis Head (48 not out) then started the repair work cautiously before launching an all-out attack on the Indians to eventually end up with a 109-run undefeated third wicket stand.

Full Scorecard

Also Read: Cricketing greats to mentor Pro Star League's camp

Read More