X close
X close
Top 10 Cricket News

WC Flashback - 1975 Cricket World Cup (Overview & Records)

by Sahir Usman Apr 22, 2019 • 11:22 AM

Apr.22 (CRICKETNMORE) - The first men's World Cup, officially called The Prudential Cup was held in England from 7 to 21 June 1975. West Indies beat Australia in the final at Lords to become the first World Cup winners.

In Cricket World Cup Flashback, Cricketnmore presents an overview of the first ever world cup:

Also Read: Dhoni did what he does best, gave us a scare,says Virat Kohli

First Cricket World Cup 1975

Teams: Eight teams participated in the first World Cup. They are categorized into two groups of 4 teams each:

  • Group A - England, New Zealand, India, East Africa
  • Group B - West Indies, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia


  • Each team played the other teams in their group once
  • The top two from each group qualified for the semi-finals
  • The winners of semi-finals played in the final.
  • Each match consisted of 60 overs per team
  • All Matches were played in traditional white clothing and with red balls


England, New Zealand, West Indies, and Australia qualified for the semi-finals.

1st Semi-Final, Australia vs England

Australia (94/6) defeated England (93/10) by 4 wickets

Australian fast bowler Gary Gilmour took 6/14, as England were bowled out for 93 (36.2 overs). Australia initially suffered a collapse with 39/6, but Gilmour (28 from 28 balls, 5 fours) brought them home in a fantastic all-round performance.

2nd Semi-Final - West Indies vs New Zealand

West Indies (159/5) beat New Zealand (158) by wickets

West Indies won the toss and opted to field. New Zealand were bowled out for 158 (all out, 52.2 overs). Alvin Kallicharan (72 from 92 balls, 7 fours, 1 six) and Gordon Greenidge (55 from 95 balls, 9 fours, 1 six) shared a second-wicket partnership of 125 runs and helped West Indies reach to their target.

Read More