X close
X close
Top Headlines

Latest Updates, 1st Ashes Test: England vs Australia at Birmingham

by Sahir Usman Aug 01, 2019 • 03:03 PM

Edgbaston to host the opening Test of the Ashes 2019 series. 

England v Australia, 1st Ashes Test
Edgbaston, Birmingham
1 August, 11.00am local, 10.00 AM GMT

Also Read: वर्ल्ड कप 2019 : इंग्लैंड ने भारत को 31 रनों से हराया

The first Ashes Test marks the start of the ICC World Test Championship, so there will be more than the urn at stake. Both teams go into the Test high on confidence: England, the ODI champions, bounced back strongly after an opening day set-back in the one-off Test against Ireland. Australia are full strength, hungry and well prepared.

England Playing XI

Jason Roy, Rory Burns, Joe Root (c), Joe Denly, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

Fri, 02 Aug, 2019 09:08 AM IST

1st Ashes Test (Day 1): England vs Australia, Highlights

Steve Smith showed the world what they missed in the last one year with a sensational hundred to singlehandedly drag Australia out of a hole and help them post 284 before being bowled out in the fag end of the opening day of the first Ashes Test at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground on Thursday.

Watch 1st Ashes 2019 Test: England vs Australia, Day 1 Highlights:

Thu, 01 Aug, 2019 03:29 PM IST

We have s strong bowling unit says Joe Root

Joe Root Post Toss

I am not disappointed, to be honest. Hopefully, we can exploit the overcast conditions, there might be something in it for the bowlers. We got a very strong bowling unit in these conditions. We have come a long way (since the last Ashes.) We always love playing here as we get fantastic support. The atmosphere is always electric.

Thu, 01 Aug, 2019 03:06 PM IST

1st Ashes Test: Australia opt to bat against England

Australian Captain Tim Paine won the toss and elected to bat in the opening test of Ashes 2019.

Check out the Playing XI of both the teams:

England (Playing XI): Rory Burns, Jason Roy, Joe Root(c), Joe Denly, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow(w), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

Australia (Playing XI): David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Tim Paine(w/c), James Pattinson, Pat Cummins, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon